Are you on your way to steal my mermaid?

We had considered it a good code. Problem was they were suspicious, looking out for anything odd. Guess a mermaid isn’t so common in Soho. They followed, watched us deal, and then mugged us. Perhaps we should have used Eros after all.

eros

Rules of the Gargleblaster say the 42 word story has to stand alone with no explanation. I suspect this one failed in that respect. Thanks for all the comments. I opted not to reply while voting was open as I was learning from the variety of interpretations.

I took the mermaid prompt and tried to play on the myth of the mermaid as a siren, luring men into danger with their sensuality. Soho  is traditionally the red light district of London and has the statue of Eros (pictured) nearby. Eros comes from erotic, representing love, mostly of the sexual passion. With all of that I conjured up my little tale of a dodgy deal, perhaps for drugs or sex, which needed a code and went wrong. I suspect I tried to be a bit too clever with the references. Thanks for reading, especially those who took the time to comment.

18 thoughts on “Are you on your way to steal my mermaid?

  1. Such a smart take on the prompt. I was wracking my brain to come up with a non-ocean mermaid and couldn’t do it. And here you go. Nice job!

Leave a Reply

